Queen Analysis #1: Dovewing

03/22/2019

Spoilers for the latest book in the Warriors series!!

Dovewing was one of the prophecy cats in the Omen Of The Stars arc, and once had the power to hear things that were very far away. After the battle against the Dark Forest she lost her power, and was just a normal ThunderClan warrior. A while later, though, she left ThunderClan to have kits elsewhere, and eventually joined ShadowClan to live with her mate, Tigerheart(star).

When I first read Omen Of The Stars, I thought Dovewing was an interesting character. She had this amazing power to hear things from far away, and she originally thought it was normal and that every other cat had it as well. To her it wasn't a power: it was just a sense. Once she found out it was unusual, she was a bit upset because she didn't want to be special, but she used it anyway to help fulfill the prophecy, as well as save her Clan and the other Clans from drought.

I started to dislike her, though, after Omen Of The Stars. This is because after establishing a bond with Ivypool, she's still willing to leave her Clan and sister without telling anyone. She acts as though there's nothing more important to her than Ivypool and then just ditches her. She even pretty much led Bumblestripe on to be her mate, only to decide she didn't love him and run after Tigerheart again.

I actually am conflicted between liking the Tigerheart X Dovewing ship, while also wanting her to be with Bumblestripe and remain close sisters with Ivypool. This is because I really like Tigerheart, and I also think it is necessary for at least one ThunderClan queen to leave the Clan (since there are WAY too many cats right now). I also think this next upcoming series, A  Broken Code, will be interesting because of it being from Shadowpaw's POV, and I want to see how her family has settled into ShadowClan. However, I thought it was unfair for her to just straight up leave ThunderClan after being so close to Ivypool and the Three for her entire life, as well as her other Clanmates. I thought it was even a slap in the face for Bumblestripe, who I also liked as a character. 

So here's my opinion: While I am glad she left ThunderClan to live in ShadowClan simply for population control, I think it was stupid of her to leave cats she loved behind. She also acted at the end of Omen Of The Stars like her Clan was the most important to her, and she'd never leave it for Tigerheart. While I like Tigerstar, and am glad they're mates, I'm still torn between their love and Dovewing's stupidity.

~xxravenshadexx


© 2019 Warriors fan blog. Not an official blog. 
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started