My Thoughts On Millie X Graystripe 

03/20/2019

Spoilers for the latest books in the series!!

Okay. so it is well known that Millie is one of the most hated characters in the series, and many people were unhappy that her and Graystripe became a couple. I actually agree that she's a bad character, although I used to actually be quite fond of her.

So Graystripe has always been on my list of favorite characters. He has such a charming and humorous personality, it's just hard not to like him. It was heartwarming to read him fall in love with Silverstream in the first series, and watch her die while he went to raise his kits in RiverClan. After he returns to ThunderClan he rekindles his friendship with Firestar, only to eventually be captured after having been deputy for a while, and becoming a kittypet.

This is where Millie comes in. I liked her in the graphic novel series, and even in Power Of Three, but my dislike for her started in Omen Of The Stars. Yes, it is actually for the reason everybody hates her for: her favoritism of Blossomfall. But I'll go into depth anyway. 

In the graphic novel series, I had liked Millie for her cheerful and kind attitude toward Graystripe, as well as her loyalty to him. This is shown throughout the third series, but it seems to vanish in the fourth, after Briarlight is disabled for life. 

She favoritism toward Briarlight. Yes, I know she was injured and Millie was having a hard time coping with the shock of having a crippled daughter, but she had no right to act how she did toward Blossomfall and Bumblestripe. For starters, she acted like they didn't exist. And when Blossomfall had gotten lost in the tunnels with Ivypool, she hadn't been worried. Instead, Millie had been furious with her for wandering off, saying stuff about her being a nuisance to the Clan. Blossomfall was heartbroken: she had just wanted her mother's approval already! But instead Millie had just shouted at her...

This is sort of the opposite of what Rainflower did to Crookedstar, and I think both are unacceptable, although I do admit that Millie, unlike Rainflower, still actually deserves to go to StarClan. It doesn't seem like she still holds this weird obsession for her daughter (well, she's dead now, and Millie is as well in the upcoming series) and neglect for her other kits, and she's still an OK cat.

Now, for the ship itself. I'm gonna be honest: I am conflicted, but I like Silverstream better. In some ways, Millie was better suited than Silverstream, since she left the twolegplace and traveled extremely far just for him, but I think Silverstream would've left her own Clan once her kits were born. And I think she would've still cared for her other kits if one of them got injured. So...yeah... I don't know.  I also think Millie kind of just ignored Graystripe a lot in Omen Of The Stars, although they seemed pretty close in A Vision Of Shadows.

Anyway, that's my thoughts on the ship. I don't despise it, and I think it worked out in the end. But I still miss Silverstream.

~xxravenshadexx

© 2019 Warriors fan blog. Not an official blog. 
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started